Skip to content

New Year resolution

January 4, 2011

I hope everyone had a great start to 2011!

Usually I’m drunk at someone’s house on New Year’s eve, but this year, I spent it low-key watching the Sydney fireworks on TV. How sad right?

Well at least I got to spend time with the in-laws as they left to go back to the UK yesterday ;-( It was fantastic that they could spend 5 weeks with us – I didn’t need to lift a finger as they helped with the washing, cooking, cleaning etc.

They will get to meet their two new twin grand-daughters back home though. I’m sure it will be mind-boggling for them!

Reluctantly, I spent New Year’s day at the Perth Cup. I’ve never been before as New Years in Perth is usually a scorching hot day, and I’ve never been convinced that you can have a fun day in 40 degrees Celsius heat and surrounded by hundreds of drunken yobbos strangers in bad hats.

So I left Lily with my parents and 4 hours later I was back home with $48 dollars, blisters, sweaty hair and engorged breasts (ahh the joys of breastfeeding). It wasn’t a bad day, but the heat did get to me, so I think next time I’ll see if I can get into the air-conditioned corporate section!

Oh and before I forget, I just have one New Year’s resolution – BLOG MORE!!!


Perth Cup

3 Comments leave one →
  1. DesertDarling permalink
    January 4, 2011 6:11 pm

    I hear ya.

    My NYE was a bit on the lame side this year too.. nevermind, will hopefully have the party hat on for next year.

    You did very well making it to Perth Cup! I do love a day at the races, however things tend to degenerate pretty quickly, especially when it’s that hot.

    I love your new years resolution.. very keen to hear more about how motherhood is treating you!!

  2. January 4, 2011 6:12 pm

    A sober NYE… I had one of those too… First one in as long as I can remember! And I didn’t care a bit!
    x

  3. January 5, 2011 4:42 pm

    Yes, next year you both will be mothers! How amazing will that be?

Leave a Reply

