Skip to content

So this is Christmas

December 21, 2010

I’ve had a lot of fun this week putting up our christmas decorations. Usually I have more time to plan a colour scheme and buy/make more decorations. But things got too hectic with Lily’s growth spurt (more about that later) and having our in-laws around, so I had to settle with mainly last year’s decorations.

Thankfully, baby shops in Perth seem to stock up on cute christmas wares so I was able to purchase a few new decorations and shop for Lily at the same time – Yay!

This might be embarrassing to admit, but I’ve always wanted a big white feather christmas tree after seeing one in OK magazine years and years ago. So even though it appeared in a tacky christmas celebrity special and the celebrity happened to be Geri Halliwell – I still wanted one!

I haven’t been able to find a big feather tree but saw the above small table tree at David Jones so I bought it. I love the soft fluffy leaves.


I love this stocking from Mama’s and Papa’s. Unfortunately, it was the last one in the shop and I haven’t been able to find other stockings which I like.


Lily’s first christmas decoration from Grandma!

Here are some of my other favourite decorations which I’ve purchased recently.


On Christmas day, it is forecasted to be 38 degrees Celsius – which is bloody hot! This will be the first time my in-laws will experience Christmas in summer so i’ve planned to go the beach with them in the morning.

Even though I love sunshine, I do prefer Christmas in winter. Nothing beats the feeling of being all rugged up and watching the snow outside, feeling the warmth of the hot roast turkey in the oven, and playing dorky card games in front of a fire.

However, I’m thankful that I’ll be spending Christmas day with loved ones so it doesn’t matter if it’s summer. Nothing will beat the feeling of sharing the special day for the first time with my daughter 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 4:04 pm

    Your Christmas decorations are gorgeous. I can understand the attraction of the feathery tree. It just looks like you want to touch it!

  2. December 23, 2010 6:21 pm

    Oh, now I want a feather christmas tree!

Leave a Reply

