Skip to content

I’m a versatile (but very late) blogger

December 17, 2010

I’m extremely late with this post as Sammie from ‘Marriage Renovations And…‘ blog awarded this to me a month ago and I’ve finally found time to complete it! Better late than never I suppose!

So here are 7 random facts about me.

1. I literally can’t whistle to save my life. I’ve had endless people trying to teach me. But nope – I’m just one of the 1% of people that cannot and will never ever be able to whistle. Which is a pity – as I’ve always wanted to wind down the window while driving to let out a loud obnoxious wolf whistle.

2. I’m not a fussy eater and will almost eat everything and anything. Not including anything which is downright disgusting or bizarre of course – i.e. Tiger balls.

3. I have the best memories whilst living in Japan. I kid you not, but every single day was full of strange encounters and new discoveries. A ‘normal’ day may include catching a ‘woman’s only train’ to avoid being groped whilst standing next to a girl dressed as a ‘lolita maid’, saying ‘iie’ (no) to men (hosts) trying to entice you to buy them ludicrously priced drinks when crossing a busy intersection, being forced to sing the only English song at Karaoke (‘Yesterday’ by the Beatles) by work colleagues, passing ‘love hotels’ and brothels which openly advertise women (?) in school outfits and missing the last train (12am) and having to spend the night in aKaraoke room with the only English song on repeat (Yeap you guessed it, ‘Yesterday’ by the Beatles!).

4. I hate coming out of the shower/bath/pool and stepping on a cold wet floor. In fact, I can’t do it – so my toes curl as I frantically try to grab a towel to dry my feet.

5. I come from a big family. I have four siblings and my youngest sister has just started high school.

6. I couldn’t speak English until I was 7 but now I can’t speak Cantonese! I have no idea how I lost the skill of being bilingual. Huge regret!

7. I spent most of my childhood in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, so I never had to watch much TV as I was having so much fun in the great outdoors. However, I must be making up for lost time as I very easily get addicted to TV series: Mad Men, True Blood, Gavin and Stacey, all property/renovation shows (Grand Designs etc). And I must admit trash TV including: Come Dine with me, Four Weddings, and Toddlers and Tiaras.

Image courtesy of Weheartit

Thanks for tagging me Sammie and I hope you have a very happy birthday today by the way! x

Considering I’m so late with this post, I won’t pass this to 7 other bloggers, but if you want to participate, let me know and I’ll be sure to link to your blog post.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. DesertDarling permalink
    December 17, 2010 11:24 am

    (arghh have so many problems posting comments on wordpress blogs! So sorry if this is a triple comment!)

    I have always wanted to go to Japan. Living there must have been so amazing.

    Ahh the good old Pilbara.. probably not a bad place to grow up! But I bet you are glad you don’t live there now!

    Big families are ace.. are you the eldest?

  2. December 17, 2010 12:14 pm

    Hi Sass!

    I emailed you a while ago about a competition.. not sure if you recieved it, but would love to get in touch with you regardless. Drop me a line if you can see my email address! 🙂

    GG

  3. December 22, 2010 8:29 am

    DD – Japan is amazing and I would love to go back. Living there was tough as a student so it would be interesting to go back and visit now that I’m older and slightly wiser.

    I’m second out of the five!

    GG – will email u …

Leave a Reply

