Skip to content

Samurai Sass

December 16, 2010

I didn’t mean to buy a knife. But it’s nearly Christmas so it’s a combined present for myself and DH.

I’ve always liked Santoku knives and our Global one got chipped when DH was trying to poke a coconut so I could drink out of it. We learnt our lesson 😦

I picked up this Shun beauty during a 40% sale with a $40 voucher! Santoku means ‘3 virtues’ – which is a reference to the three cutting tasks it excels at: dicing, slicing and mincing.

The knife is made in Seki city, the Samurai sword capital of Japan, and is characterised by distinctive flowing patterns in the steel.

Image courtesy of Your Home Depot

As I’ve had not cooked for over a month, this is great incentive for me to get back in the kitchen again. Lets hope Lily allows me!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

