Skip to content

So is she sleeping through the night yet?

November 22, 2010

The most common question I get from friends is: “So, is she sleeping through the night yet?” I know I shouldn’t get irritated at this question as I was probably prone to asking this myself before becoming a parent – but I get asked this again and AGAIN and it’s very annoying!

So the answer is “No,” – she isn’t sleeping through the night. And that is very normal.

Lily will be 4 weeks this Thursday so she is still technically a newborn. Newborns have very small stomachs and they grow rapidly. Since their diet is only liquid, which gets digests very quickly (breastmilk even more so), they will need feeding every 2 to 4 hours – so it is just isn’t realistic for them to sleep through the night.

Most babies don’t even start sleeping through the night until 9 months, but every baby is different.

Lily currently is waking up at around 12 am and 3 am but this week she isn’t going to bed immediately after a feed. It takes an hour or more for me to settle her to go to bed. Which means cuddling, rocking, and singing constantly. So I desperately need to have an afternoon nap when she is sleeping or I’ll be too buggered and not have the energy to settle her.

After Lily is 6 weeks I’m going to investigate some sleep strategies and flexible sleep routines to see if that will help keep my sanity.

Daddy’s new alarm clock

I got this cute t-shirt and baby bodysuit as a gift from Ms Curious! Thanks so much Ms Curious – Lily and DH are enjoying their new PJs and it’s very fitting of their roles!  You can get this t-shirt and baby bodysuit set via this website: http://chubbybunnydesigns.wordpress.com/

Well I hear Lily crying again, so I better go settle her!

* Lily was not harmed during this photo by the way! She was in bed 10 minutes after this photo was taken…And was up 20 minutes later 😛

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 6:09 pm

    When I see mothers with newborns, I ask “how many times does bubba wake up during the night?”. TLG did not sleep through until he was 10 months old!

    Thanks very much for the photo, it’s the first time I see the outfits on models 🙂 I really enjoy your blog so it’s my way to say thanks.

  2. November 26, 2010 12:50 am

    The alarm baby bodysuit is probably the cutest thing Lily owns – what a fab idea! Thanks once again for the gift 🙂

  3. November 28, 2010 4:15 am

    just randomly read this – good luck with the baby ! 😀 😛

Leave a Reply

