Skip to content

What made me smile today…

November 19, 2010

I’m blatantly copying stylish blogger Maxabella here – but I really wanted to put positive spin to something that has irritated me for a long time. And, I wanted an excuse to use this cute pic of Lily smiling!

So what I’m grateful for today is…the recent change with extended trading hours in Perth – FINALLY! Maybe this is a sign that Perth is starting to leave the dark ages and accept it’s becoming a bigger city which needs to cater for the vastly different needs of individuals and families?

Obviously having a baby has restricted the times I can go out to the supermarket, so as you can imagine this a huge god-send to me!

Today Lily was crying up a storm outside Woolworths, and with all the fierce looks from customers, I wasn’t exactly feeling comfortable about entering. So instead of breaking down and crying myself thinking that shops will close at 5pm, it is a MAJOR lifesaver to know that I’ll be able it to get DH to get some ’emergency’ supplies on the way home now.

And before having a baby, I used to finish work at 6pm, so I had to spend a fortune at gourmet supermarkets which were the only places open until 8pm.

I was simply told by my Perth work colleagues (male, over 45) to ‘plan my life better’ so that I didn’t have to make emergency dashes to expensive stores. Well unfortunately I didn’t have the luxury of having a housewife – unlike them šŸ˜›

Three cheers to extended trading hours!!!

Hopefully something has made you smile today!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Popsi permalink
    November 19, 2010 9:26 pm

    Oh I totally hear you… I used to live in Perth after living in Sydney and it used to drive me nuts not being able to shop later or on Sunday, especially working 6 days a week and long hours. Or on the flipside, when I was a uni student wanting more opportunities for retail work on a Sunday or other nights! And not to worry, I’m sure Lily will start to like shopping soon… after all, she is a girl šŸ˜›

  2. November 20, 2010 7:56 am

    Wow! She is growing so quickly!
    What a cute little smile!

    PS: I have tagged you for an award on my blog! Check it out!

  3. November 21, 2010 1:12 am

    Popsi – Thanks for stopping by! Perth is very frustrating and yes the ‘weather is nice’ but it can be so frustrating that people here are so opposed to change!

    Funny thing about that shopping trip, is that she stopped crying when I went into a baby store! Typical!

    Shoesammie – Ooo another tag..will try to find time to work on my reply. I can’t believe you are scared of birds though! I’ve never heard of that phobia before! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

