Skip to content

Flensted Mobiles

November 16, 2010

For a few months I’ve been searching for an ideal mobile for the nursery. I know I didn’t want some huge plastic contraption which plays the most annoying version of “It’s a small world”- as I didn’t want my baby to spend the first months of her life staring and listening to something so tacky.

So instead of cute teddy bears or Sesame characters, I found this great balloon mobile made by Flensted. Would you believe I was google searching ‘balloon mobiles’ (inspired by balloons I saw in Europe) and found out about this particular mobile, but before buying it via the net, I saw it at a local store window the next day?! It was definitely meant to be!


Balloons
Here are some other mobiles by Flensted that I also liked…

Butterflies

Sailboats

I love how these mobiles show their beauty so simply – with their graceful movement and their abstract shapes and colours.

On their website, Fensted get quite philosophical about their product:
“…For when in motion a mobile creates a double emotion in the onlooker – an awareness of the fleeting nature of the moment, and the certainty of an eternal present. It stimulates both sides of the brain at the same time.
You become meditative and are released from the hassle of everyday life. Your spirit soars.”

I doubt Lily gets this type of awareness- but I do catch her staring at the balloons from her cot.

All images above courtesy of Flensted

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ash permalink
    November 23, 2010 2:12 pm

    I would love to know where you bought the mobile in Perth? many thanks

  2. November 23, 2010 2:22 pm

    Oo I should have mentioned in on the post! I got the mobiles from a shop called Remedy – http://www.remedyonline.net.au/.

    They are located in Leederville, Fremantle and Dunsborough.

Leave a Reply

