Skip to content

Happy 1 week Lily!

November 4, 2010

It’s been a week since I gave birth to my daughter, and man does time fly by so quickly. I’m sorry I haven’t been blogging much lately but it’s true what they say about serious sleep deprivation as I hardly feel that I have enough energy to even stand up nowadays!

I also got discharged from hospital on Melbourne Cup Day (Lily’s horse came second – Yay!) and was expecting utter chaos since I didn’t have midwives on hand to help me – but thankfully I’ve been managing okay with DH helping out.

So here is a quick summary of what I didn’t expect in my first week:

  • I thought I would hate being in hospital, but ended up loving all the midwives who not only helped with giving good breastfeeding advice, but helped with changing nappies and settling the baby when I needed a rest.
  • Breastfeeding is difficult. I don’t find it exactly ‘comfortable’ having cracked bleeding nipples and then getting them sucked vigorously on every 3 hours. Going to persevere with it though…
  • Wow…my boobs are massive. I stick my middle finger up to all the people in high school who said I was doomed to be a pancake forever! LOL
  • I’ve been told I would look 5 months pregnant after giving birth. Liars!! I looked like I was 8 months pregnant!!! My belly bandit didn’t even fit on the first day! However, after a week my belly has dramatically gotten smaller and my belly bandit now seems like it will be too big! So not sure whether my belly getting smaller  is a credit to the belly bandit or to breastfeeding…
  • My nails which are usually so strong are now all breaking really easily…I need a manicure desperately.
  • I’m crying a lot about Lily growing up. Ridiculous right? She is only a week old but I have cried about her not being in my belly (i.e. she is separate to me now) and her leaving hospital (i.e. before I know it she will be graduating from highschool).
  • Acquaintances and family members who never really kept in contact or made any effort to catch up are suddenly all interested in meeting Lily. I guess I’m a mum now so I should act like an adult and let them meet her rather than telling them to f*#k off!
  • I thought I would be eating all the food that I couldn’t during pregnancy and drinking champagne as soon as I gave birth – but I haven’t even had the slightest desire to do this yet. Very strange…

Anyway, it has been a great week and it feels like a lifetime ago that I was pregnant. Being a mum is the best thing in the world and even though I’m struggling from the lack of sleep and the painful nipples…all I need to do is look at my baby and I know it’s worth it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Miette Miel permalink
    November 4, 2010 7:23 pm

    Thanks for making the time in your new busy schedule to let us know how you are going!!I love the new pic of Lily 🙂

  2. Nicole permalink
    November 4, 2010 8:40 pm

    Congratulations on the arrival of lily! You make me wanna do it all over again…. I totally get you on the growing up way too fast, it seems like yesterday I was pregnant not 17 months ago.

  3. November 4, 2010 8:42 pm

    So glad to hear that things are going well (considering the sleep deprivation), and what a beautiful photo of Lily!

    P.S. I didn’t get the chance to send the package – will do it tomorrow.

  4. November 7, 2010 7:36 pm

    Ohh thanks for the update- I am really keen to hear all about new parenthood!! Especially the ‘unexpected’
    Jeez the nipple sitch doesn’t sound like much fun..

    I can understand the tears at her not being in your belly anymore.. I guess you are both still getting used to that!

  5. November 7, 2010 10:07 pm

    Thanks for all of your sweet comments!

    Got an appointment today with a lactation consultant so hopefully I’ll get more tips on breastfeeding!

Leave a Reply

