Skip to content

IT IS LABOUR!

October 27, 2010

I came back from seeing my obstetrician and he confirmed that I was indeed in labour and was 3 cm dilated! Woohoo! At least I’m not going through false labour as I’ve been up since 2 am and want it to be worth it!

You are probably thinking why the hell am I blogging right now? Shouldn’t I be screaming in pain in hospital? Well, I’m still in my early stages (first-time mums usually have longer labours) and since my contractions are around 5 minutes apart I’m still dealing with them at home.

So is birth painless? Er no…it’s quite painful. Like a huge belly ache combined with the worst lower back ache and period cramp. But since it’s only lasting a minute at the moment, I’m still managing it without too much trouble. But I can see how each contraction is getting more intense and why it is called ‘labour’ – it’s bloody hard work!

At the moment I’m trying to relax as much as possible as I know most of the hard work will happen when I’m in hospital. I’ve put some ocean music in the background, doing deep breathing during the contractions and visualising positive images.

I find it hard to visualise something in my mine so borrowed a book called ‘ 25 Ways to Awaken your Birth Power’ which has some beautiful pictures that have inspired me during pregnancy and are now working as great visual tools during my labour.





Images courtesy of 25 Ways to awaken your Birth Power

Thanks guys for all of your sweet messages! I can’t wait to share the news of the arrival of my daughter with you very soon!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 4:46 pm

    Good luck with it all Sass, I’m thinking of you.

  2. October 27, 2010 5:28 pm

    Good luck Sass! Well be thinking of you!

  3. Miette Miel permalink
    October 27, 2010 5:52 pm

    Good Luck!! I can’t wait to hear all about your baby girl 🙂

  4. TopChick permalink
    October 27, 2010 6:42 pm

    Best wishes SnS

  5. October 27, 2010 7:09 pm

    How exciting!

  6. Desert Darling permalink
    October 27, 2010 7:43 pm

    Im so happy for you (and your little girl) that you went into labour naturally!!
    How exciting..
    Very impressed that you were posting bump pics and blogging up until the last minute!

    Sending positive vibes in your direction for a magical labour…

  7. November 5, 2010 9:58 pm

    Thanks again for all your sweet comments!

Leave a Reply

