Skip to content

Eating spicy – Pork Vindaloo

October 15, 2010

If I go over my expected delivery date by 10 days, it is hospital policy to induce me. Inductions involves a Syntocinon drip (an artificial form of the Oxytocin hormone) which helps my womb contract. However, induction is a lot more intense than a natural labour and many women find it extremely difficult to manage the pain. The baby’s heartbeat also needs to be monitored constantly and the risk for an emergency caesarean also rises due to the strong contractions that may cause stress for the baby.

So, I’ve been investigating some ways to induce labour naturally as I would prefer to avoid a hospital induction. For the past few weeks,  I’ve been drinking raspberry leaf tea, bouncing on a fit ball, doing lots of walking and eating lots of spicy food.

Oh how I love spicy food! Especially my curries! I’ve also been making a batch load to freeze to prepare for when baby comes as I’ll be too knackered to cook.

A couple of days ago, DH made a ‘traditional’ Pork Vindaloo which was very flavoursome and therefore very different to most Vindaloos I’ve eaten.

Lots of people mistake Vindaloo to mean a very hot spicy curry with potatoes. When I was in Indian restaurants in England, blokes (including DH!) spent the majority time showing off they could eat Vindaloo -and then drowning it off with beer of course 😛

But apparently since this dish originated from Portuguese settlers in Goa, Vindaloo isn’t meant to be some super hot dish – unless you want it to be – it’s has a variety of spices to bring out the flavour (and not the inner competitive lad!) and like any curry dish you should cater the hotness to your own preference.

Since, I’m er trying for a natural induction, I asked for extra spicy! But you don’t have to make it too spicy…here is our recipe.

Pork Vindaloo recipe (serves 4)

Spice mix
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp coriander seeds
2 cardamon pods
1/2 tsp of cloves
1/2 tsp black peppercorns
1/2 cinnamon stick

Curry paste
7 cloves of garlic
2 tbsp of ginger
Red chillis (cater the amount and type to how spicy you want this to be)
4 tbsp of white wine vinegar

1 diced brown onion
Diced pork
Black mustard seeds
Cashew nuts
Salt
Sliced capsicum (optional)

Grind spice mix and blend ingredients for curry paste. Then add both mixtures to diced pork. It is best to marinate for a couple of hours – although you can cook this straight away as well.

Brown the onion, add the marinated pork (any any optional vegetables and cook (covered) for 45 minutes. If the curry is a bit dry, add a bit of water.

Fry the mustard seeds and cashews and add this to the curry in the end. Add a bit of salt to season.

 


3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 4:27 pm

    I found the combination that worked for my two (the first time it wasn’t my intention to bring labour on), was a very spicy dinner a long walk and well you can guess the third. Both times labour started the next day, so it could just be a coincidence. Fingers crossed for no induction for you.

  2. October 15, 2010 9:08 pm

    Thanks Lila! I like spicy food, walks and *cough* (geez I sound like a dodgy personal ad) so at least I will enjoy it!

  3. October 16, 2010 5:09 am

    Good friend of mine tried the raspberry leaf tea, spicy food, lots of walking and also acupunture (sp?)
    Just some other things that might we worth a try. Ended up having her daughter a week early! Also then meant that she could come to our wedding!!!

Leave a Reply

