Skip to content

The waiting game

October 14, 2010

With only 9 days to go before my estimated delivery date, I’m officially in the ‘baby-can-come-anytime-now’ zone. Therefore I have my hospital bag all packed and basically just waiting for labour to happen now. I can’t believe I’ve reached this stage as pregnancy seems to have gone by so quickly!!

Right now I’m getting pretty tired and sore. I’m feeling quite uncomfortable since the baby is head down and putting a lot of pressure on my pelvis – so I can’t get up too quickly (ouch!) and I’m needing to go to the toilet a lot more (sucks when I’m trying to sleep though!).

I find it difficult being restricted to wearing only a minimal amount of my wardrobe. I’m not loving the ever increasing stretch marks either. So in some ways I’m pretty much fed up with being pregnant.

Blame it on the pregnancy hormones, but I’m not totally hating it though. I really think I’m going to miss being pregnant as I love feeling lil bubs move inside me and talking to my bump. It’s all rather cute and getting the chance to release the ‘inner child’ in me. I’m still having a lot of fun!


Here is my bump at 39 weeks. Now, I don’t have an obsession with tutus (really I don’t!) so maybe it’s the pregnancy hormones that’s making me buy them! I got this from American Apparel. The black dress I got from a vintage store in London and the belt from the night markets in Bangkok.

My obstetrician says I have definitely ‘dropped’ and the baby is in a good position (i.e. not breech) but since she is still moving around a lot, I have feeling she isn’t ready to come out just yet…cheeky girl!

So although I’m going to miss being pregnant, I really don’t want her to be too late as that would mean I have to be induced which is something I would prefer to avoid. I also know that I can’t be pregnant forever and the whole point is to meet my cute daughter! Which will be better than being pregnant…can’t can’t wait!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 7:04 am

    Well just incase this the the last post you get to make before the little Miss comes… I just wanted to wish you a safe and happy labour.
    Your little girl will be with you soon and then the start of a new chapter in your lives begins.
    xoxo

  2. October 15, 2010 2:40 pm

    your outfit is gorgeous. It won’t be too much longer, good luck with your labour.

  3. October 15, 2010 4:09 pm

    Thanks guys! I hope it happens next week!

  4. Desert Darling permalink
    October 17, 2010 8:15 pm

    Very impressed to see you are still rocking out the maternity wear at 39 weeks!
    Fabulous your lil girl is in a good position!

  5. October 18, 2010 10:55 am

    You look gorgeous! I hope I look like you if I ever get a baby bump 🙂

Leave a Reply

