Skip to content

Spring is here

October 10, 2010

Spring is here in Perth and the weather has been wonderful lately. My front garden is (slowly) improving with DH’s skill in building a white picket fence for me. Oh how I love having a white picket fence! Cliche I know – but it really does suit our (old) character home.

Spring is my favourite season, not only is it when I celebrate my birthday, but I just ‘agree’ with the weather -as it isn’t too hot or cold, but I still get to enjoy the sunshine. I also love what Spring represents: ‘Renewal’, ‘Growth’ and seeing my garden represent this makes me all giddy with excitement especially since it’s less than 2 weeks that I will become a mother for the first time! Symbolic right?


Remember the Everlasting seedings I planted back in May? Well, they have bloomed and I’m so pleased as it’s like I’ve created a mini-wildflower display in my front garden.

I love Australian native plants so we had to definitely get the Kangaroo paw to plant around our new picket fence. I was aware of the popular red and green variety, but had no idea they came in pink as well, so had to get these as well since they were so pretty and unique.


I have two of these trees and I have no idea what they are called -but they are deciduous trees and hence they look different every season. So it’s always exciting to witness the first leaves growing in Spring.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Desert Darling permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:22 am

    I am a big fan of Australian Natives too

    Everlastings are the best- such a sweet flower with such a sweet name!

    I have never had much success with kangaroo paws.. but that pink variety looks great- I might give them another try

  2. October 12, 2010 1:38 pm

    I loved your native wedding bouquet btw DesertDarling!

    DH keeps calling the ‘Everlastings’, ‘Forget-me-nots’…as he says he keeps forgetting what they are called…but I met he is doing on purpose to irritate me!

    I’ll let you know how I’ll go with the kangaroo paws as I’ve heard they aren’t as easy to grow even though they grow wild (and fine) across the road – Go figure!

Leave a Reply

