Skip to content

HypnoBirthing

October 8, 2010

As you may know from my ‘Tackling my fear‘ post, I have decided do hypnobirthing in order to achieve a natural and and positive birth experience. I have a few friends who have given birth and all of them have had ‘horror’ stories which hasn’t exactly helped with me feeling confident at all so I knew I had to do something to manage my fear and hopefully come out without another horror story.

I was a bit skeptic about hypnobirthing as didn’t like the idea of being in some kind of trance. So, I was happy to hear that hypnobirthing has nothing to do with being in a trance – quite the complete opposite actually – you remain in total control from self-hypnosis and relaxation techniques and natural childbirth education (e.g. ideal birthing positions, what happens during labour etc) to help with remaining calm and relaxed during birth.

A birthing companion (usually your partner or your mum/friend) is also involved with learning the same techniques so they can help support you during birth.

So let’s hope that hypnobirthing works for me and even if I do need interventions, I hope the techniques I learnt and practised still create a positive experience for me overall.

Learn more about hypnobirthing here: http://www.hypnobirthing.com/


Image courtesy of HypnoBirthing

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 6:18 am

    Wow! Not long to go now for you!!!
    I think it’s really important to try all different things, methods and ideas.
    I will be really interested to see how this goes for you.

  2. October 9, 2010 7:48 pm

    Thanks Shoesammie. I’m willing to give it a go and even if things don’t turn out as planned I hope the skills I’ve learnt still makes the experience a lot more pleasant!

Leave a Reply

