Skip to content

33 week 4D scan

September 7, 2010

Like any doting parent I can’t help posting these latest pictures. I paid for a non-mandatory non-medical 4D scan of the baby as I desperately wanted some video/pictures of the baby during the 3rd trimester. This scan also allows you to invite family members or friends so they can have a nosey look see the baby too. So it’s a more relaxed and casual vibe compared to the previous scans which were very clinical.

My other scans (available here) didn’t really resemble a baby let alone a human being. And since they do a whole bunch of tests, I was rather stressed out during both of them. I was literally holding my breath until the Sonographer confirmed everything was normal.

So on Sunday, all 8 of us clambered into the room which featured a huge plasma TV and 80’s music playing the background to see the baby in 4D for the last time before the birth. I got to lie down with the warm ultrasound fluid being squirted on my belly and within seconds the first image appeared.

I was close to crying when the scan came up! I mean…IT’S DEFINITELY A BABY! And it’s inside me!!!! Freaky! Anyway, I know I’m majorly biased but she is so mega cute! I love love her already! I was relieved that she no longer looked like the Predator.

The first thing my mum blurted out was: “SHE LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE DH!” And true, he does exactly the same pose when he falls asleep on the sofa!

Okay, I’m getting way too excited as I’ve used up my exclamation mark quota for today.


Here, she looks like she is peaceful sleeping, but throughout the scan she was so active as she was kicking and rolling around. What a show-off like her Dad.


Here she is licking her fingers. I didn’t get to see her suck her thumb though (heard this was common). And you probably can’t tell in this pic but she was doing a yoga pose with one leg next to her head. So that explains how I can feel her kick down in my abdomen but then feel her other leg higher up. She is going to be a yoga girl like her Mummy.

Ahh bless…she is smiling here. DH ruined the moment (as usual) by saying she looks like she is farting. Typical boy remark.

So don’t worry DesertDarling, your baby will not turn out like Skeletor as mine doesn’t look like Predator anymore – and thank goodness for that 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 7:04 pm

    Your little one looks lovely!!!

  2. September 7, 2010 10:19 pm

    Lovely pics, thanks for sharing them with us!

  3. September 9, 2010 9:08 am

    Oh my Goodness!!!
    She is breathtaking!!

    What a great idea- where abouts in Perth did you get this done?
    I felt a little sad when I realised that the 19 week scan was supposed to be our last look at the baby before it’s born but I would def do something like this!

    Amazing!

  4. September 9, 2010 2:05 pm

    Thanks guys! I can’t stop looking these photos – she is so cute!

    DesertDarling – I highly recommend you have these photos (if budget allows) in your 3rd trimester and then you can invite your parents to watch too!

    I had mine done at ‘3D 4D Fetal Fotos’ in Mt Lawley but there are a couple of other places in Perth which do non-medical scans too.

Leave a Reply

