Skip to content

One born every minute documentary

August 25, 2010

Anyone else watching  (or has watched) the ‘One Born Every Minute’ documentary?  I’m seriously loving it…What an extraordinary show.

40 unintrusive cameras all around the maternity ward at Southampton Hospital were installed to film this eight-part British documentary. It won the 2010 BAFTA Winner for Best Factual Series. Australian viewers can watch it on SBS every Tuesday at 8.30pm.

Now I must admit, this probably would not have been a show I would have been interested in before being pregnant. And I doubt I would have even  took notice of the ads.

Anything to do with ‘labour’,  ‘birthing’ etc, would have automatically instilled  ‘gory’ images in my mind and I would have therefore felt more compelled to watch another shallow (but oh so satisfying) re-run of Sex & the City.

So I decided to record the series as I thought it would provide some level of education about the whole  labour process. Not expecting anything really entertaining…just educational (see I told you I didn’t take much notice of the ads!).

So it came as a surprise to find that it was actually a heartwarming yet fascinating and gripping show (which can be enjoyed by non-pregnant too) which didn’t feature any gory bits!  The documentary takes you on a journey through all the emotions, drama, tension, weird noises, raw pain and then ultimately the utter sheer joy of the baby’s arrival.

It’s rare for me to have a dry eye at the end of the show.

Yes, I do get a bit frustrated at points as now I’m doing a bit more research into labour, and I’m surprised that a lot of women on the show stay on their backs in bed for most of their contractions (this usually increases the time of labour). Also seeing unsupportive partners who just sit there in shock (can’t they just say or do something?), and the grimness of the hospital room annoys me at times too. But I guess this is ‘reality TV’ and not everyone prepares for birth in the same way.

It is so special however, to get an insight of  how all the lives of these individuals and families will dramatically change in a matter of hours. How awesome is it to watch midwives who seriously care and demonstrate such love and support? Now, how many of us can claim we do that in our daily jobs?

Watch it online at: http://www.sbs.com.au/documentary/program/oneborneveryminute/index

Image courtesy of SBS

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 12:33 pm

    Must admit I am in tears by the end of the show too. No doubt it is pregnancy hormones (I am 18 weeks along) but seeing the happiness that spills over when the mums get their bubs is lovely. Most of the time, husband and I are staring gape mouthed at the screen tho’….kind of scary. I like how last night, they were saying spend less energy on screaming and put it into pushing, good advice (hope I can stick to it when it is my time:)

  2. August 26, 2010 11:48 am

    Definitely good advice to save your energy to when you really need it.

    Depending on the episode, I can get really annoyed at the mothers/birth partners/midwives etc but when that baby comes out, I immediately start crying!

    Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy!

  3. August 28, 2010 6:45 pm

    I’m loving this show too! It has also been making me cry (and I am not normally a cryer!) I found the episode with the young mother whose son was born with his intestines on the outside particularly moving.

    I love it when they get their babies at the end and it all just seems so worth it.

    Usually the babies look so limp and floppy before they start crying I am worrying that they arent ok.

    Watching this series has made me start thinking about my own labour, because for some reason I hadnt really been giving it much thought. It has made me really hope I can pull off a natural birth.

    It’s so interesting seeing how different the birth experiences can be and how different parents respond to the whole thing.

    A huge eye opener and I really dont want this series to end!

  4. August 29, 2010 10:02 pm

    I keep forgetting to watch it! Looks like a great show. Thanks for the link to it and a reminder to watch it…

    My two births were very very different and I have to say this has opened my eyes to the many different experiences women have when giving birth. No two are alike, it seems!

  5. September 1, 2010 1:56 pm

    DesertDarling – I understand what you mean by not really thinking about labour until watching a show like this. It’s good that this series started during your second trimester so at least you have some time to prepare. Are you planning to have your birth in Perth or in the Pilbara?

    Gill – My mum has also said that all of her births have been really different and I’m not surprised given that she had 5 kids in all different hospitals!

Leave a Reply

