Skip to content

Baby movements

August 23, 2010

The best thing about being pregnant is the strong bond between mother and baby – and this started for me when I first felt the baby move.

I’ve always been curious to know what this would feel like.  Was it going to be painful? Would I be able to see feet or fingers protruding out of my belly? Was it going to feel totally alien-like??

Baby books describe the feeling as: fluttering, bubbles, butterflies and finally kicks. And it IS exactly that.

At 17 weeks when I was about to go to bed, I felt fluttering and assumed it was because of my pregnancy anxiety or perhaps the curry I had for dinner.

But then the next night it happened again, and I just KNEW it had to be the baby.

I felt elated, excited and exhilarated. I even frantically grabbed DH’s hand (which freaked him out as he was fast asleep) and placed it on my belly but alas, he couldn’t feel anything. 😦

By 19 weeks, the feeling got a bit stronger…like bubbles. Cute little bubbles rapidly popping inside me. What a novelty! I couldn’t stop smiling.

My pregnancy finally felt real with thoughts of ‘OMG there is a baby inside me’ constantly going through my head. 

At around 21 weeks, the baby’s movements got even stronger so it started feeling like proper kicks and jabs. Finally, DH was able to feel the movements. Yay! It wasn’t my imagination after all. 🙂

This often resulted in me shrieking mid-way during conversation or jumping off my seat at work.

And no, this wasn’t because it was painful – I just couldn’t contain my excitement!

This continued for a few more weeks and then at 27 weeks, I could actually see my belly move with each strong kick and poke. I could also feel firmness from either the baby’s head or feet which often resulted in her moving or kicking me back.

The baby was also now reacting to music and I’ve learnt it doesn’t really appreciate Drum & Bass just yet – much to DH’s disappointment.

At 29 weeks, I first felt the baby hiccupping . Hiccupping to me feels like regular short spasms. Even though it’s kinda cute, I can’t help but think lil bubs might be uncomfortable – thankfully her hiccupping doesn’t last too long for me to be too stressed.

And now at 31 weeks, my belly moves like the Banzai Pipeline with multiple kicks and pokes happening simultaneously.

The confirmation that the baby is moving and getting stronger day by day is no doubt reassuring so I look forward to feeling each kick, jab and poke. My endless fascination with my baby’s movements is like an addiction to watching MasterChef  – BellyWatch TV!

As I’m about to go to bed she throws a party inside me – like she is celebrating the end of the day. When I wake up, she senses I’m alert and gives me a kick to let me know she is also awake. It’s such a beautiful and amazing experience.

I’ve been told that the movements will decrease in the next couple of weeks as the baby will get larger and therefore won’t have as much room to move around.

So I’m enjoying every moment while it lasts.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 1:58 pm

    What a lovely post- brought it all back for me. I found my childrens personalitites were very much in line with how they behaved in the womb- my calm daughter and my fiery son:-)
    Good luck in the final weeks!

  2. August 23, 2010 5:35 pm

    Thanks for stopping by!

    I hope my daughter-to-be won’t be having any late night parties or kicking me out of bed in the morning though!

  3. August 24, 2010 4:18 pm

    That baby furniture is great! I have looked at it before.
    Also a big fan of the Stokke range.
    I somehow know all this stuff and I’m not even pregnant yet!
    Jeepers Creepers!!!

  4. August 24, 2010 6:32 pm

    Im not sure if I have felt any movement yet. I’ve had a few sensations which I would describe as a little twinge but not really bubble-like flutters?
    Am 19 weeks tomorrow so hopefully everything ok in there. Have our next scan this Thursday.

    How exciting for you- it seems like time is starting to go really fast! It’s lovely that you are getting to know your little girl before she is even born

  5. August 25, 2010 9:33 am

    The sensations are most likely little movements – oh how exciting!! Good luck for your scan tomorrow…are you going to find out the sex?

  6. August 29, 2010 10:05 pm

    Isn’t it the best feeling in the world? I used to love just lying on the couch, kicking back with my baby and feeling all his little legs and arm movements. It really makes you feel that bond, doesnt it?

Leave a Reply

