Skip to content

Brisbane

August 16, 2010

Last week I got to spend some time in Brisbane (Queensland Australia) catching up with friends and enjoying the warmer weather. It was my first time in Brisbane and absolutely loved it – especially shopping in Fortitude Valley and hanging out in Paddington and the Southbank! I was a bit hesitant of taking a ‘babymoon’ at first, but didn’t regret it in the end as got to really relax and unwind before bub’s arrival.

Valentino Retrospective Exhibition: Past, Present, Future

Here are some of my highlights of the trip:

I managed to squeeze in some time to check out the Valentino Retrospective: Past/Present/Future exhibition and I urge anyone in Brisbane to go. The exhibition includes 100 haute couture gowns from 1959 and even though you may have seen many of these gowns in pictures, seeing them up and close really reveal all the intricate detailing of Valentino’s famous geometric patterns, vivid colours and mastery of creating fabulous silhouettes.  Pure genius…

I wasn’t allowed to take any photos but DH managed to get the sneaky shot above of the huge poster.

Dinner @ Urbane – Lamp rump slow roasted, horseradish crust, baby vegetables, herb gnocchi and consomme

I had a fantastic dinner at Urbane  and was looking forward to it due to lots of good reviews and they certainly didn’t disappoint. Urbane combines classic techniques with beautifully crafted modern twist and flavours.

They had brilliant customer service and customised some of the dishes for me knowing that I was pregnant. I had the lamb dish above which they cooked longer for me and it was simply exquisite. The flavours were perfectly balanced and sublime…and doesn’t it look all pretty with that flower on top?

Dinner @ Urbane – Slow cooked fillet of beef with potato mousseline, short rib braised in stout and garlic puree

DH had the beef dish above and he certainly wasn’t disappointed either. Even though there were a lot of ingredients, it was still perfectly executed without them all overpowering each other – with the most important thing  being that the beef was cooked to his liking!

Dinner @ Urbane – Slow cooked pineapple and roast coconut cream, green tea sponge and fennel pollen.

Dessert was fun and delicious – very molecular gastronomy/experimental. The green tea sponge was scattered on a plate so the texture and flavours of the green tea could blend well with the coconut and pineapple.

If you live in Brisbane or plan to visit I highly recommend you make a trip to Urbane for dinner! Their website is: http://www.urbanerestaurant.com/

Afterwards we went to Cloudland – a bar in the Fortitude Valley. I wasn’t allowed to take photos but another definite ‘must-go’ destination…all I can say is that the interior and atmosphere is mad!

Well, I’ll definitely be going back! ❤ Brisbane!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jasmine permalink
    August 16, 2010 2:34 pm

    That dessert looks like it should have a little fairy perched on top of it!

  2. August 17, 2010 12:12 pm

    True! I must say it didn’t look appealing to me at first but it was very delicious!

  3. August 21, 2010 4:14 pm

    my mouth is watering! i have only been to brisbane once and it was a long time ago…we will have to visit again soon

    the valentino exhibition must have been amazing

Leave a Reply

