Skip to content

Highchairs

August 15, 2010

Damn Pregnancy and Baby Expo! For some reason I thought I would maybe only spend a couple of hours getting useful information on baby services but I went on a shopping frenzy for over 4 hours and spent way too much $$$!

I kid you not, but some magnetic force made me head to the Bloom stand and I bought the baby lounger and universal snug immediately! I got a 20% discount so that will help justify my purchase for a little while…

Anyway, while I was at the Bloom stand, I spied the Fresco baby chair and and was definitely impressed with it’s sleek look and features. It reminds me a bit of the Eero Aarnio Ball chair.

The chair can be used from birth (can be used as a cradle for newborns up to 6 months) to a traditional high chair (i.e. with the tray attached) to school age (i.e. without the tray and adjustable in height) providing families with a 3-in-1 resting, feeding and play chair.

The Fresco Loft has all the same features as the Fresco but can also be used at the breakfast bar or counter top with an extra 15cm (6″) in height. Both type of chairs feature a 360 degree swivel, FDA food grade plastic, 5 point padded safety harness and enclosed wheels for easy movement.

I like the cradle feature of this chair, but I’m not sure I’ll get much use out of it personally, especially if I have a pram, lounger/rocker, and most likely will put the baby straight in the cot when she falls asleep anyway.

Images above courtesy of Bloom

Another chair I like is the Stokke Tripp Trapp. It’s been around since 1972 and it’s a chair that can be used from baby to adults. Ergonomically designed and providing stability/comfort, this chair allows babies and children to share the same table as their family.

The chair allows freedom of movement and encourages play and independence. It can be adjusted to custom fit your child’s body, enabling comfortable and natural ergonomic sitting. I wouldn’t mind sitting on this chair as well and probably will end up fighting with my child over such a comfortable looking chair!


Images above courtesy of Stokke Australia

The Bloom Fresco retails for A$599.00 and A$699.00 for the Fresco Loft. The Stokke Tripp Trapp retails for A$349.00 with the baby seat at an additional A$79.95 (Prices from Babyroad).  I’ll probably start looking at highchairs after the baby is born though when lil bubs starts eating solids.

I have a bit of a history with highchairs by the way. My mum told me when I was 6 months I got stuck in mine (I somehow got my body stuck in between the gap at the back of the seat. This was the 80’s, so the safety requirements were non-existent!). She spent an hour and half screaming her head off trying to work out how to get me out! I was crying like mad, and my brother (we are 13 months apart) was laughing unsympathetically at the situation thus making mum scream and me cry even louder.

This may have caused me significant psychological damage, and whilst I don’t have a Seatophobia, I think I am allowed to be picky with highchairs and therefore spend $$$ on a safe, comfortable and good looking chair…right? Yeap, that is what I’m going to tell DH 😉

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 8:44 am

    I’d highly HIGHLY recommend the stokke tripp trapp high chair. We’ve got two, & they are one of the best purchases we’ve ever made!
    go Stokke!

  2. August 15, 2010 9:05 am

    Wow 2 Stokkes! I couldn’t believe they have been around since 1972? Wish my mum got me one of these instead 🙂

  3. August 15, 2010 5:15 pm

    Loving your childhood highchair tale! Sounds like quite a drama and yes, completely worthy of being a little choosey when it comes to your child’s seating arrangements….

    I LOVE the STOKKE chair too by the way!

  4. August 15, 2010 8:06 pm

    Both chairs are très stylish. Between the two I would probably choose the Stokke because it looks easier to clean (The Little Guy is a very messy eater), although the lack of a tray in front of the seat is a minus in my books.

    I use the humble Ikea ANTILOP as recommended by a friend and it has served us well, but I note that there is no Ikea in Perth so that’s not very helpful for you.

    Good luck with your decision!

  5. August 15, 2010 10:29 pm

    Thanks for the advice ladies!

    There is actually an Ikea in Perth so might have a look at their highchair as well. At this rate I’m making weekly visits to Ikea!

Leave a Reply

