Skip to content

TummyTub

August 10, 2010

I’m on the search for a baby bath but didn’t want it to take too much room and was recommended to just wash the baby in the laundry sink or in a bucket!

However, I came across this nifty product called the TummyTub which was designed in the Netherlands to ease the transition from the mother’s womb for the baby to relax in a similar environment during bath time. The advantage of using a tub shape allows the baby to relax in the familar foetal position so they can feel reassured and secure – thus allowing for a stress-free experience for the baby and the parent.

At first, I was questioning this product as it looks very much like a regular bucket to me. Plus, it can only accommodate the baby until they are 6 months old.

The website however says this product will be different to a typical bucket because it is designed specifically for bathing babies – not washing clothes. The shape of the tub allows for the baby to feel the sides and is deep enough so they are sufficiently immersed in warm water – like the womb.  The TummyTub also doesn’t contain any harmful substances or sharp edges so it will more ergonomic and safe to use with your baby.

It has had some great reviews from parents/midwives and won quite a few awards including ‘Tips of the Best Baby bath 2008 – 2010’, so I might give it a go.

So what do you guys think? Have any of you used a similar product or had trouble bathing your baby?

The UK site can be found here: http://www.tummytub.co.uk/ (website also contains a video of the product)

Australians can buy the TummyTub from here: http://www.sunros.com.au/tummytub/

Image courtesy of Daily Mail

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 12:16 pm

    I saw these recently in a baby shop and I think they look good. Besides, how could you resist with a photo like that one?!

  2. August 10, 2010 12:48 pm

    I dont have anything useful to add, but how cute do those little bubba’s look in them?!

    I think the idea of it being like a womb makes sense.

    Is it exxy though?

  3. August 10, 2010 2:33 pm

    The Aussie website was down so I can’t confirm the price…but when I looked a couple of days ago I’m sure it wasn’t more than 50 bucks for the tub.

    I’ve seen it advertised for 17 pounds though in the UK.

    Yes – the babies in the photo are too cute!

  4. DesertDarling permalink
    August 10, 2010 6:29 pm

    What a cute picture!
    I have to admit I was planning on just using the sink- but these do sound like a good idea

  5. August 11, 2010 1:58 pm

    this is certainly a cute pic…

    i think is really hard to know what works until you are actually using them! my friend and i bought the same baby bath – she loved it while i rarely used it! to be honest i quickly moved my boys into our regular bath tub just because that is what worked best for me….

    but if you like the look of these tummy tubs why not give them a shot….at the very least you will probably get some gorgeous photos out of it!

  6. August 11, 2010 2:15 pm

    Yes, I can be the next Anne Geddes! Well I might as well get it (for the purpose of research of course!)and the worst case scenario is that I’ll have another bucket to do my washing in! LOL!

Trackbacks

  1. Latest baby purchases « Sass and Spice
  2. Bath time fun « Sass and Spice

Leave a Reply

