Skip to content

Dunstan baby language

June 14, 2010

I saw an ad in a baby magazine about this and thought it was too good to be true until I read mostly positive comments from mothers on baby forums. Basically it’s a technique that allows parents to understand their baby’s (birth – 3 months) sounds and cries correctly and therefore respond quickly and effectively.

So I might go to my local library to see I can borrow the DVDs first before making a commitment on purchasing.

Anyone out there heard of this? Let me know what you think!

More information can be found on their website –http://www.dunstanbaby.com/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 8:06 pm

    Hi Sass,

    One of my friends let me borrow theirs when my bubba was born, and to be honest, i couldn’t really tell the difference. I guess it really depends on the baby. Unfortunately for me my son just cried the same for everything. The differences, even though subtle were all in his facial expressions, and even then it was a struggle to be able to tell. Finding out what was wrong with him was more about troubleshooting of a list of possible known causes than anything else. And to be honest, i think you can get used to reading your bub pretty accurately after a few weeks even without the help of the DVD. 🙂

  2. June 16, 2010 9:44 am

    Thanks for the comment Morena. I guess it’s all about learning about your own baby’s cues which gets better with time after trial and error hopefully!

    The Dunstan technique is about troubleshooting 5 type of cries:
    Neh – I’m hungry
    Owh – I’m sleepy
    Heh – I’m feeling discomfort (needs new diaper or itchy etc)
    Eairh – I have an upset stomach
    Eh – I have gas (needs to be burped)

    So I’m thinking that there aren’t too many cues to learn during the first few weeks.

  3. June 16, 2010 9:55 am

    Thanks so much for your well wishes:) It was such a lovely thought oxo

Leave a comment