Skip to content

Chocolate, almond and raspberry cupcakes

June 14, 2010

Meet Poppy – she is my apple red KitchenAid mixer and was one of my wedding presents. I love her to bits  and couldn’t imagine how I lived before without her ♥♥♥ !

Last weekend, I used her to make chocolate, almond and raspberry cupcakes. I’m not much of a baker so I need some practise as I’m planning on making my own cupcakes for my baby shower. Here is the recipe…

Ingredients:

60g dark chocolate
225g dark brown sugar
120ml water
90g butter
2 eggs
100g self-raising flour
40g almond flakes
40g chocolate chips
100g frozen raspberries

Icing:

150g butter
250g icing sugar
1 tbsp vanilla essence
2 tbsp hot water
1 drop of red food colouring (I accidentally dropped the bottle, hence the too pink look!)
chocolate drops for each cupcake

Method:

1) Add water with the chocolate and melt under low heat.

2) Add the eggs, sugar and butter and mix thoroughly with a mixer or electric beater.

3) Sift flour and cocoa into the mix and stir. Then add the almonds and chocolate chips and mix well.

4) Place a couple of the raspberries in the middle of the paper cases and then add the mixture.

5) Bake for 40 minutes to 170°C/335°F. Once done, leave to cool on wire rack for a couple of minutes.

6) For the icing sugar, mix the butter and icing sugar until smooth. Add the Vanilla essence, food colouring and water and mix well.

7) Spoon icing on cupcake and add a chocolate drop in the middle.

I definitely need more practise with making these cupcakes look better, but in terms of the taste – these cupcakes were simply sumptuous!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 3:40 am

    Looks so yummy…thanks for sharing:) x

Leave a Reply

