Skip to content

Should you be eating that?

June 9, 2010

I’ve always paid attention to what I eat. I love eating good quality fresh food. I’m not a fussy eater and I’ve  always made sure I eat all my vegetables – even the dreaded brussel sprout! I eat out a lot (too much actually) but am attempting to cook more at home.  I’m passionate about travelling and a big part of that is because I simply love the experience of trying new food. Even on a late night bender, I’m able to resist the temptation of eating McDonalds or a dodgy kebab, and opt out to make a sandwich at home instead.

So now that I’m pregnant, I have to pay even more attention to what I eat and it seems that the rest of the world is paying attention too! A month ago I bought a takeaway coffee to the hairdresser’s and I got a load of accusations simply because it wasn’t decaf! On numerous occasions, I’ve also had food shoved on my plate because I’m ‘supposed to be eating for two’ and I’ve encountered strange looks whilst eating cheddar cheese.

So to set the record straight, I AM looking after myself and taking precautions – but there seems to be a lot of confusion to what a pregnant lady can eat and drink.  This is what my doctor has advised me to avoid:

  • Soft cheese such as Brie, Camembert, Blue Vein, Feta, Ricotta
  • Dairy products which are unpasteurised
  • Seafood and meat which is served cold or raw or semi-cooked. Meat should be cooked through with no pink or bloody bits. This includes avoiding cured deli meat such as ham, and  pre-cooked chicken like what you get in most sandwiches. Canned Tuna is apparently fine.
  • Sprouts such as Alfalfa
  • Vegetables/fruit which haven’t been thoroughly washed.
  • Salad such as colesaw and pasta from salad bars
  • Raw or uncooked eggs. This applies to  home-made ice-cream, mousse, and home-made mayonnaise where raw eggs are used. Salad dressings or desserts you buy from the supermarket are fine because they use pasteurised eggs.
  • Soft-serve ice-cream
  • Pate/liver
  • Alcohol
  • Smoking

Limit/reduce intake of:

  • Caffeine
  • Fish with high levels of mercury (e.g. Shark, Barramundi)

This ‘pregnancy diet’ is recommended in order to prevent nasty bacteria (such as Listeria, Salmonella, Toxoplamosis) affecting  the baby since immunity levels are lowered due to the hormonal changes during pregnany.

I’ve been following the diet fairly well but as you can imagine, it makes meal options very limiting. For example, I can’t eat most sushi or sandwiches from the shop which makes buying lunch a very frustrating process. It also presents a dilemma when you are invited to a friend’s house for dinner as you don’t want to sound like you ae being difficult but you also want to actually be able to eat something and not embarrass the host. Word of warning though, if you do choose to be ‘difficult’ expect the classic line of ‘Well my mum never did that…’ to come up during conversation…

So what do you think about the diet above? Do you think you be able to stick to the above for 9 months?

Some of the food at my wedding  (which I won’t be able to eat now!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 8:57 pm

    That is a sensible list.

    My obgyn said a glass of wine here and there doesn’t hurt but I didn’t have any alcohol once I found out I was pregnant. It was a bummer too because I went on an overseas work trip and I would have lived it up otherwise!

    I missed sushi so much – the first dinner I had outside of the hospital after giving birth was at a Japanese restaurant.

    With sandwiches – perhaps go with chicken schnitzel?

    I also hated steaks well-done so that was off the menu as well. I like my steak medium-rare nom nom.

  2. June 10, 2010 7:54 am

    I like my steak medium-rare too…*drool*

    Luckily I’m not going overseas – the temptation will be too great! I am planning to go to Brisbane for the first though so might have to do some research first to make sure I can still have a good time eating!

Leave a Reply

