Skip to content

My 12 week scan

May 18, 2010

I’m officially 17 weeks pregant and well into my second trimester now! My little bean has grown into the size of a sweet potato and my uterus is apparently the size of a rockmelon now! I love how these pregnancy books/websites use fruit and vegetables as metaphors for size!

In 2 weeks, I will be having my second official ultrasound (otherwise known as the ’19 week scan’) where I’ll be able fo find out the sex of the baby (haven’t decided whether I’m doing this yet…everyone I’ve talked to seems to have an opinion about this btw…will post about this topic soon!). By this stage I’ll hopefully have felt the baby move. Apparently, it’s like having butterflies or gas bubbles in your tummy.

I thoroughly recommend every mum-to-be to attend all of their ultrasounds as it is truly memerising and surreal to see your baby – especially if he/she moves!  Below is a scan I had at 12 weeks and I wasn’t prepared to see my baby move…and boy did the baby move! Little bean was waving, doing somersaults, performing star jumps, kicking – I was blown away especially since I couldn’t feel anything yet! And, to think this was all happening in the 1st trimester of my pregnancy – simply amazing!

The 12 week scan also checks the placement of your placenta, your ovaries, amount of amniotic fluid, and the development of the umblical cord. With the baby, they check the heartbeat (you can hear it too), the spinal cord, the brain development, body heat, crown rump length (confirms the gestational age) in order to confirm the baby is developing normally. You get to see the baby from the side (as in pic below) and also from the top (i.e. you see the baby sitting crossed legged from the head…so so cute!).

If you want, the scan also checks for chromosomal abnormalities. You will have a blood test a couple of days before the scan which tests two pregnancy hormones produced by your placenta called PAPP–A (Pregnancy Associated Plasma Protein–A) and free beta–hCG (human chorionic gonadotropin). During the scan they will also measure the fluid in the fetal neck and whether the baby has a visible nasal bone. With all of these measurements you will be given a risk calculation of your baby having Down’s Syndrome.

I also had a 3D scan so will post pictures of these scans later…but be prepared though – as they are a bit ‘alien-like’ even though I have been advised these pictures are completely normal! And after all of that they give you a DVD so you can play back all the pictures and share them with friends and family.

My little one at 12 weeks (can’t wait to see you again in 2 weeks)!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 4:44 pm

    Aww, very cute… Your very blessed to have a child.

    • karina marsh permalink
      March 23, 2012 5:48 pm

      how wonderful, soo soo beautiful. very very happy for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

