Skip to content

Not planned but definitely meant to be…

May 11, 2010
tags:

Okay, I’d thought I get into a bit more detail with how I got pregnant and what I’ve experienced so far. I decided to take a pregnancy test after not getting my period and started sobbing wildly when I saw the double lines appear so quickly (I hadn’t even finished urinating)! I’m not sure why I was so emotional…I mean, it wasn’t like I didn’t want to be pregnant. But maybe it’s been drilled into me for so long that you don’t want to see that double line appearing (Hey, I’ve only been married since January!).

I then booked to see my GP the next day, stopped drinking and eating all the foods that I wasn’t supposed to based on all the information I found during  ‘my extensive Google search’. My GP recommended that I take a scan to see how far long I was (they weren’t available for another week) and can you imagine how shocked I was when they announced the heartbeat of the little one was 161bpm and I was 7 weeks into my pregnancy?

SHOCK.

How could this have happened? Well, I know HOW it happened but surely I would have experienced morning sickness or have gained some weight in 7 weeks? I was expecting for the results to come back with maybe 2 weeks – certainly not half way though my first trimester. Which apparently is the most ‘crucial time of development’  according to all of those websites I’ve found during my extensive Google search! And YES, I was obviously drinking and eating all the foods I wasn’t supposed to and not taking Folic acid either (can you tell I like to plan??)! The only advice the doctor gave me was to get out of his office immediately and start booking an Obstetrician (it took me 2 days of ringing to finally book one because I was apparently so far along!).

So now I’m 16 weeks and am getting more used to the idea of being pregnant and can’t simply wait to meet my ‘little bean’. I have finally told work and most of my friends and family, so it’s a relief to not have to come up with a stupid lie to why I’m not drinking or running anymore. I know this is a true blessing to have been so lucky to have conceived so quickly after just getting married, but I admit I’m still a bit scared. I mean it wasn’t that long ago when I was making wedding invitations and now I’m ‘up the duff’…a true ‘50’s wife’…so this is truly life changing stuff here! So even though this didn’t go as I would have liked or planned, I think that was a good thing for me! At least I’m learning how to ‘go with the flow’,  release total control, and embrace the good fortune around me instead of panicking over what I could have done better.

Image courtesy of thebeecharmer

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 8:25 pm

    I can totally understand your mixed feelings. I would be totally the same. I know I want to get pregnant soonish- but never quite yet. I am expecting a mish mash of emotions if/when the time comes.

    I can understand your anxiety about not having been flooding with folate and eating soft cheese and drinking etc, but Id say the vast majority of people don’t realize they are pregnant in the early stages and were partying like it was 1999 up until they realized they were up the duff. (In my circle of friends anyway).

    Congrats on your pregnancy, a very exciting time for you, and I love that last sentence you wrote

  2. May 13, 2010 7:53 am

    Totally agree with many people not realising they are pregnant especially if they just got married!

    Thanks for the congrats and for popping by x

  3. Vicki permalink
    May 14, 2010 6:27 am

    I was the same as you! We decided that we should start to try to get pregnant & next month I was! Even though it was planned it was a complete shock, I didn’t think that it would happen for 6-12 months so I was still drinking too when I fell pregnant – oops. But feeling guilty about it isn’t going to help me or her. And I am 36 weeks now & I still don’t think it has completely sunk in that I am going to have a baby in a month.

    Congratulations & enjoy your pregnancy!

  4. May 14, 2010 9:55 am

    Congratulations on your pregnancy too Vicki! You must be so excited! I bet you can’t wait to see and hold your baby for the first time!

    I guess lots of women don’t realise they are pregnant especially if they don’t have any symptoms…I guess with whatever way we find out…it’s certainly a blessing!

Leave a Reply

