Skip to content

My wedding

May 9, 2010

Ahh it seems so long ago….but it was only in January 2010 that I got married in Thailand…and it was simply…awesome! 90 friends and family came to Koh Samui to celebrate my nupitals…and what a party we all had!!

My memorable parts to the wedding were:

My makeup and hair were done by a local group of  ‘lady-boys’ (don’t worry, my  makeup was au naturel).

My bridesmaids were dressed in lovely olive green Ruth Tavydas gowns and I did their makeup using my newly purchased Nars and Stila products…and I was pretty pleased that I managed to stay very relaxed!

I had to send back the bridemaids flowers 3 times as the base foliage wasn’t fresh (I doubt any bride wants semi-rotten leaves at their wedding???) and ended up designing new flower arrangements

Seeing my dad looking so smart in his Hugo Boss suit and (little did he know) Topman tie and my mum looking like a ‘hot mama’ with her new Thai organza silk dress.

My bridesmaids taking 20mins to put on my Pallas couture dress..those darn buttons…there is no way I can ever fit into that dress again!!!

Seeing the wedding set up for the first time and amazed at how beautiful the beach looked with our beautiful chifon altar, red carpet aisle, balls of orchids on bamboo stands (wasn’t my idea but nice ‘surprise’ touch by the venue!) and white director chairs.

Seeing our intials on a wooden boat of orchids in the red swimming pool with floating candles.

Proudly seeing my youngest sister take on her ‘Flowergirl/Junior bridesmaid’ role with pride as she walks down the aisle.

Seeing my FH almost cry when he first sees me as I walk down the aisle! YES!!!!

Seeing all my family and friends turn around with the biggest grins on their faces and then getting blinded by all the flashes from their cameras!

Trying to not stare (or curse to myself) at the floating arrangement near the altar with had the same semi-rotten leaves which they tried to use before for the bridesmaids’ flowers….oh well..something to laugh about after the wedding is over…:-P

Everything about saying the vows, to exchanging the rings, and the first kiss as husband and wife!

Getting lovely rose petals thrown at us and a surprise banana leaf cone which struck me right in the face (friend later admitted she did this accidentally)!!

Not understanding a word from the Thai govenment official when we were signing our legal documents.

Photos on the beach!

Rejoining our guests for drinks, canapes and then dinner! I  loaded my plate with the most delicious Thai food I’ve ever eaten but was way too excited to finish dinner! I heard the banana crepes and sticky mango rice were to die for…

All the speeches including my father-in-law, father, and best man’s! Thank goodness they weren’t too embarassing.

Husband and I trying to cut the cake with the blunt end of the knife ?!

Seeing my makeup artist again as Diana Ross!

Dancing the night away with my girl pals!

Throwing the bouquet and realising that it was all destroyed by the time the girl caught it!

And finally going to our honeymoon suite and seeing how the staff moved all of wedding flowers in our room and lined our balcony and filled our jacuzzi with tea-lights and rose petals (there were probably 50 candles in our room…potential fire hazard but hey it was sooo pretty).

So now, it is all over…but what an AMAZING day filled with so many memories!
(EDIT – Photos moved to this post)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 8:31 pm

    sounds wonderful- would love to see some piccies

  2. May 13, 2010 7:51 am

    Put a few more up just for you! Hope you like them and can’t wait to see yours! 🙂

  3. Yen permalink
    June 6, 2010 8:21 pm

    Gorgeous wedding! Your reception looked so beautiful! Definitely showing link to my partner haha :P!

    Love your blog too, congratulations on your little girl on the way!

    (rapunzel283 from Vogue Forums ^^)

  4. June 8, 2010 1:32 pm

    Thanks Yen! I will need to put some more photos up…it seems so long ago now 🙂

  5. June 14, 2010 7:33 pm

    Your wedding looked absolutely beautiful,congratulations..the flowers were just divine…:)

  6. June 16, 2010 9:45 am

    Thanks for the comment and glad that you liked the photos twistedvines 🙂

Leave a Reply

